federal programs

Federal Programs includes Title I, Title II, Title III, Title IV, Title IX, and Every Student Succeeds Act.

Improving the Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged

Louisiana has developed a comprehensive set of standards by which districts measure what students should know and be able to o and an assessment system to determine to what extend Louisiana students have met these standards. The East Baton Rouge Parish School System will continue to provide its student the highest quality education as we transition from the requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 to the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2016.

Purpose

To ensure that all children have a fair, equal, and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and reach, at a minimum, proficiency on state academic achievement standards and assessments.

Preparing, Training, and Recruiting High Quality Teachers and Principals

Title II is dedicated to four basic parts: teacher and principal training and recruitment, mathematics and science partnerships, innovation for teach quality and enhancing education through technology. 

Purpose

To provide funds to increase student academic achievement by elevating teacher and principal quality through recruitment, hiring, and retention strategies and to hold local educational agencies and schools accountable for improvements in student academic achievement.

Purpose

Title III – Part A is to help ensure that children and youth who are limited English proficient, Native American, and/or immigrants attain English language proficiency, develop high levels of academic attainment in English, and meet the same, challenging State academic standards that all children are expected to meet.  

ESL Department Webpage

Purpose

Provide students with access to a well-rounded education, improve school conditions for student learning, and improve the use of technology in order to improve the academic achievement and digital literacy of students.

Purpose

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was signed by President Obama on December 10, 2015, and represents good news for our nation’s schools. This bipartisan measure reauthroizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), the nation’s national education law and longstanding commitment to equal opportunity for all students. ESSA replaces the NCLB Act of 2002.

The new law builds on key areas of progress in recent years, made possible by the efforts of educators, communities, parents, and students across the country.

ESSA includes provisions that will help to ensure success for students and schools. 

Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

Parent, Family and Community Engagement includes several different forms of participation in education and working with our schools. Parents can support their children’s schooling by attending school functions and responding to school obligations (parent-teacher conferences, for example). Parents can become more involved in helping their children improve their schoolwork by providing encouragement, arranging for appropriate study time and space, modeling desired behavior (such as reading for pleasure), monitoring homework, and actively tutoring their children at home.

Outside the home, parents can serve as advocates for the school. They can volunteer to help out with school activities or work in the classroom. Or they can take an active role in the governance and decision making necessary for planning, developing, and providing an education for the community’s children. Parents are a child’s first teacher.

Community Resources for Parents

Academic Distinction Fund

8550 United Plaza Blvd. Suite 301
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
(225) 922-4560 | fax (225) 922-4562 
www.adfbr.org

Families Helping Families of Greater Baton Rouge

2356 Druscilla Lane
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
(225) 216-7474 | fax (225) 216-7977 

www.fhfgbr.org
Jamie Tindle, Executive Director
jamietindle@fhfgbr.org

Family Road of Greater Baton Rouge

323 E. Airport Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
(225) 201-8888 
www.familyroadgbr.org
Dena Morrison, Executive Director

Family Services of Greater Baton Rouge

4727 Revere Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
(225) 927-9810 | fax (225) 924-7175 
www.fsgbr.org
Rene Taylor, Executive Director
rtaylor@fsgbr.org

Home Instruction Program for Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY)

Delmont PK-K Center
5300 Douglas Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70805
(225) 356-1221 or (225) 355-2106 office
(225) 338-9371 or (225) 359-6515 fax
www.hippyusa.org
Bernadette Joiner, Coordinator
bjoiner@ebrschools.org

Resources for Schools

A Toolkit for Title I Parental Involvement

Survey for Assessing School Level Family and Community Partnerships

Sample School-Based Parental Involvement Policy

Parent-Student-School Compact for Success

Parental Involvement Compliance Guidance

LA Parent Involvement Resource Guide to Success

How to Establish a PTO

How to Establish a PTO

PTO Sample Bylaws_1

PTO Sample Bylaws_2

PTO Sample Bylaws_3

PTO Sample Bylaws_4

Presentation for Staff Development

Effective Strategies for Meaningful Parental Involvement

Parental Involvement Activities that Work

Purpose

The East Baton Rouge Parish School System serves students in transition and works to ensure that homeless children and youth are still able to enroll and succeed in school. We have appointed a dedicated Homeless Coordinator to serve as the link for homeless families to school staff, district personnel, shelter workers, and social-service providers. 

McKinney-Vento Definition of Homeless

Section 725(2) of the McKinney-Vento Act10 defines “homeless children and youths” as individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence. The term includes the following:

Children and youths who are:

-Sharing the housing of another persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason (sometimes referred to as “doubled-up”)

-Living in emergency or transitional shelters

-Abandoned in hospitals

Children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings.

Children and youths who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings.

Migratory children who qualify as homeless because they are living in circumstances described above.

Homeless Program Flyers

Students in Transition

Enrollment Process

Information for Parents

Administration

Dr. Sandra Bethley, Ph.D.

Administrative Director of Federal Programs

(225) 922-5538 | sbhorton@ebrschools.org

School Support

Antonia Acosta | (225) 922-5517 | aacosta@ebrschools.org

Kashanna Bridges | (225) 922-5505 |kbridges@ebrschools.org

Ashley Dawsey | (225) 922-5518 | adawsey@ebrschools.org

Dayvetta Ferchaud | (225) 922-5587 | dferchaud@ebrschools.org

Jared B. Francis | (225) 922-5593 |jfrancis@ebrschools.org

Chassity Lewis | (225) 992-5506 | clewis16@ebrschools.org

Nadina Pitts | (225) 922-5479 | npitts@ebrschools.org

Dana Primus | (225) 922-5466 | dprimus@ebrschools.org

Maricel Salvacion | (225) 922-5636 | msalvacion@ebrschools.org

Avis Sampson | (225) 922-5573 | asampson@ebrschools.org

Letitia Signater | (225) 922-5529 | lsignater@ebrschools.org

Amparo Torralbas | (225) 922-5556 | atorralbas@ebrschools.org

A. Rashid Young | (225) 922-5536 | ayoung8@ebrschools.org

Technical Support

Fabiola Huffman | (225) 922-5461 | fhuffman@ebrschools.org

Claude Jackson | (225) 922-5559 | cjackson@ebrschools.org

Ilsia Perez | (225) 922-5474 | iperez@ebrschools.org

Jennifer Saulny | (225) 922-5535 | jsaulny@ebrschools.org